An independent Scrutineer has declared the result of the first general Executive elections to the Nationalist Trade Union - Solidarity.
Four members of the new seven-man/woman Executive have been victims of political discrimination, 'the new McCarthyism' in the workplace or their Union. Patrick Harrington (General Secretary) was expelled from the RMT union because of his perceived political opinion! Simone Clarke, dubbed the "BNP Ballerina" was hounded by demonstrators at the English National Ballet. Brothers and teachers Mark & Adam Walker were harassed on account of their political views.
Patrick Harrington said "Although we are in different parties many of us share a similar experience of victimisation. Most of our Unions didn't support us because of their own political bias. In fact many of them sided with the bosses or carried out their own witch-hunts. Those of us who care about workers rights had no option but to support a Union that doesn't politically discriminate and defends its members against employer victimisation".
The number of voting papers distributed for the purposes of the election was 149. The number of voting papers returned to the scrutineer was 93 (3 were received out of time).
The number of valid votes cast in the election for each candidate was as follows:
Garry Aronsson  73 Elected
Simone Clarke  78 Elected
David Durant  76 Elected
David Kerr  63 Elected
Lindsey Nieuwhof 54 Not-Elected
Mark Walker  79 Elected
Pat Harrington and Adam Walker were elected nem-con as General Secretary and President respectively.
Contact: Patrick Harrington (Solidarity General Secretary) 07794 486858 or
Press Release (sol02press) distributed by Accentuate - PR Company